The Only Specialized Global Intellectual Property News Agency
A Member of Talal Abu-Ghazaleh Global

International Trademark Association Announces 2019 Recipients of Prestigious Awards

20-Nov-2019 | Source : INTA | Visits : 3610
NEW YORK - The International Trademark Association (INTA) announced the recipients of its prestigious 2019 President’s Award, 2019 INTA Service Awards, and 2019 Tomorrow’s Leader Awards.

According to the Association, the two recipients of the President’s Award are attorneys Marion Heathcote, Principal, Davies Collison Cave, Sydney, Australia; and Lara Kayode, Founder and Managing Partner, O. Kayode & Co, Lagos, Nigeria. The President’s Award acknowledges the profound appreciation of the global trademark community to INTA members who, over the course of their careers, have made a lasting impact on the Association and its mission.

Ms. Heathcote has extensive experience advising on international trademark portfolio management and protection, particularly within the Asia-Pacific region. She has been volunteering with INTA for nearly two decades, serving on various committees and as a member of the Board of Directors from 2005 to 2008 and contributing to the Association’s advocacy, educational programs, and publications.

Ms. Kayode has been managing her own intellectual property (IP) law practice since 1996. A volunteer with INTA for nearly 20 years, she currently chairs the Unreal Campaign Committee’s Asia and Africa Subcommittee. She has contributed to INTA’s advocacy and policy work, educational programs, and legal resources, and she served as a Board member from 2012 to 2015.

INTA’s new Service Awards are given in three categories to recognize individuals and organizations who provide exemplary service to the Association. The recipients are:

Advancement of Association Objectives: Larisa Colton, Global Trademark Counsel, YUM! Brands, Inc., Plano, Texas; Latha Nair, Partner, K & S Partners, Gurgaon, India; Scott Phillips, Managing Director, Epsilon Economics, Chicago, Illinois; Daniela Rojas, Consultant, Pirkey Barber PLLC, Austin, Texas; and Joe Simone, Founder and Partner, SIPS Ltd., Hong Kong SAR, China.

INTA Members for a Better Society: Peter Dernbach, Partner, Winkler Partners, Taipei, Taiwan, China; Alice Kelly, Partner, Ice Miller LLP, Chicago, Illinois; TOMS Shoes Inc., Los Angeles, California; Natura Cosméticos S.A., São Paulo, Brazil; and FSC Global Development GmbH, Bonn, Germany.

INTA Membership Champion Award: M.S. Bharath, Senior Partner, Anand and Anand Advocates, Chennai, India; Mohamed Eldib, Partner, Eldib & Co, Cairo, Egypt; and Matías Somarriva, Partner, CMS, Santiago, Chile.

In addition, INTA bestowed its Tomorrow’s Leader Award on Sher Hann Chua, Consultant, Tilleke & Gibbins, Bangkok, Thailand; and Suzannah Wood, Solicitor, King & Wood Mallesons LLP, Melbourne, Australia. The award annually recognizes two outstanding professionals who have been practicing trademark law for five years or less for their early leadership merits in the IP industry.

“The tireless work of INTA’s volunteers is instrumental to the Association’s success and, just as importantly, to the advancement of the field,” said INTA President David Lossignol. “We’re honored to acknowledge and celebrate the countless achievements of this year’s award recipients, and we thank all of them for their positive impact on the global intellectual property community.”

INTA presented the recipients with their awards on November 19 at its 2019 Leadership Meeting, which is taking place November 19–22 in Austin, Texas.

Related Articles